CMO of The Year 2020 and other winners announced via virtual award show on Friday

On Friday, for the first time ever, the Malaysian CMO awards was held virtually in a 90 minute award show format via YouTube and Facebook.

As 8pm approached and rookies, professionals and veterans of the industry were getting ready to tune into the award show from wherever they were, the excitement to which CMOs were receiving an award was apparent as organisers were flooded with WhatsApp messages asking for insider information.

Sharp at 8, the Chairman of the Malaysian CMO Awards, Professor Harmandar Singh popped up on screen all suited up as he welcomed everyone and briefly explained the judging criteria involved in choosing this year’s winners. He was then virtually joined by all 7 judges as they individually said a few words about this year’s submissions.

As the winner(s) for each category was announced, they were called via Zoom and asked to share a few words regarding their win.

To catch the full award show, click here. For a summarised version, below is the full list of winners for the Malaysians CMO Awards 2020:

Category Winner Company
Best Marketer in B2B Marketing THAM YEN LEE Astro Media Solutions
Best Marketer in Omni-Channel Marketing (Special Mention) EDMUND LEE Red Bull Malaysia
Best Marketer in Retail & Promotions Marketing MARTIN VOON & ANDREW YEOH RHB Banking Group & IKEA Southeast Asia
Best Marketer in SME Marketing GIGI LEE CHING YEE RHB Bank Berhad
Best Marketer in Sustainable Brand Marketing NIZAM BIN SANI Bank Rakyat
Best Marketer in Millennial Marketing SUTAPA BHATTACHARYA TNB
Best Marketer in e-Commerce Marketing ANGELINA VILLANUEVA KFC Malaysia
Best Marketer in Event & Experiential Marketing (Special Mention) RAYMOND SIVA MDEC
Best Marketer in Customer Experience Marketing JOVINA TAN SIEW CHING Taylor’s Education Group
Best Marketer in Data & Technology Marketing ANGELINA VILLANUEVA KFC Malaysia
Best Marketer in Mobile Marketing (Special Mention) KONG EE LYNN unifi, Telekom Malaysia
Best Marketer in Social Media Marketing RAYMOND SIVA MDEC
Best Marketer in Influencer Marketing SHEENA FONG Novartis
Best Marketer in Loyalty & Engagement Marketing ANDREW PINTO & SHAZLINA MOHD SUFFIAN & Maybank
Best Marketer in Festive Communications Marketing FERNIE JASMINE ABDUL GHANI Axiata Group
Best Marketer in Education & Training SHIRLEY NEW Taylor’s Education Group
Best Marketer in Media & Content Partnership Marketing BENJAMIN WOO LIK KANG Maxis
Marketing Trailblazer – Financial Services ABDUL SANI ABDUL MURAD RHB Banking Group
Marketing Trailblazer – FMCG EDMUND LEE Red Bull Malaysia
Marketing Trailblazer – FMCG (Special Mention) FARHAN HAFETZ FGV Holdings Berhad
Marketing Trailblazer – Telco TAI KAM LEONG Maxis
Marketing Trailblazer – Digital BEN FOO &
Taylor’s Education Group &
Pos Malaysia
Marketing Trailblazer – Media & Entertainment MOHD SHAHRIZAL ABDUL RAHIM Astro Media Solutions
Rising Marketing Star – Media & Entertainment NG KOK SUM Astro Media Solutions
Rising Marketing Star – Digital STEFANIE SIOW IPC Shopping Centre (IKEA SEA)
Rising Marketing Star – Telco NICK YAP KA WAH Maxis
Rising Marketing Star – Financial Services NATALIE CHEW YEE JHIEN RHB Banking Group
Click on each winner’s name to watch their winning submission video
The most anticipated award of the evening, the Malaysian CMO of The Year went to Angelina Villanueva from KFC Malaysia

Presenters of 2020 Malaysian CMO Awards were: Omnia,, Taylor’s, IPSOS, SME Magazine, Passion Pictures,, Malaysikini, ENTROPIA, Ideal Systems, KOMACI Network, Pos Malaysia, Astro, Visual Retale, Train Consultancy Asia, Interactive Rewards, Directors Think Tank, The Edge Media Group & R3 Worldwide.