Four new senators sworn in on Dec 3

KUALA LUMPUR: Four new senators have been sworn in at the Dewan Negara on Saturday (Dec 3) following their appointment as ministers in the Cabinet under Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

They took their oath of office before Dewan Negara president Tan Sri Dr Rais Yatim here at 8.30am.

They are Pakatan Harapan secretary-general Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail who will lead the Home Ministry and Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz who was appointed as International Trade and Industry Minister.

Also taking the oath of office as senators were Barisan Nasional secretary-general Datuk Seri Zambry Abd Kadir who will helm the Foreign Ministry and Syarie Chief Justice Datuk Dr Mohd Na’im Mokhtar who was appointed Religious Affairs Minister.

Saifuddin Nasution, Zambry and Mohd Na’im are new members of the Dewan Negara while Tengku Zafrul is a re-appointment following the consent of Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah.