GPS names 15 new faces for 31 parliamentary seats in Sarawak

KUCHING: Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) has named 15 new faces among its candidates for all 31 parliamentary seats in Sarawak for the 15th General Election (GE15).

Among them are two state assemblymen and a former senator who will be making their debut in the parliamentary polls.

Batu Kitang assemblyman Lo Khere Chiang will be fielded in Stampin and Repok assemblyman Datuk Seri Huang Tiong Sii in Sarikei, while former Dewan Negara deputy president Datuk Seri Doris Sophia Brodie will stand in Sri Aman.

GPS chairman Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg, who announced the candidates at Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) headquarters here on Thursday (Nov 3), also said Works Minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof and Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi would defend their Petra Jaya and Kapit seats respectively.

He announced that Tourism, Arts and Culture Minister Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri would move from Batang Sadong to Santubong, replacing Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar who is stepping down.

Two more incumbents not seeking reelection are former Batang Lupar MP Datuk Rohani Abdul Karim and Betong MP Robert Lawson Chuat, who will be replaced by Mohammad Shafizan Kepli and Richard Rapu respectively.

In addition, Puncak Borneo incumbent Datuk Willie Mongin will be fielded by GPS to defend his seat.

Willie won as a PKR candidate in 2018 but quit the party after the fall of the Pakatan Harapan government in 2020 to join Bersatu, before applying to join PBB this year.

PBB is the main component party of GPS, along with the Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP), Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and Progressive Democratic Party (PDP).

PDP president Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing will be defending his Bintulu seat while PRS president Datuk Joseph Salang will be attempting a comeback in Julau, where he lost in 2018.

Abang Johari said the GPS candidates consisted of experienced and young faces.

He said there were two new female candidates for a total of five women.

“GPS’ direction is very clear towards 2030. We are very firm on our manifesto,” Abang Johari said, adding that the manifesto would be launched on Nov 6.

He also said GPS would defend Sarawak’s rights, including fighting for unresolved issues under the Malaysia Agreement 1963 (MA63).

The full candidate list is as follows;

1. Mas Gading – Lidang Disen

2. Santubong – Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri

3. Petra Jaya – Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof

4. Bandar Kuching -Tay Tze Kok

5. Stampin – Lo Khere Chiang

6. Kota Samarahan – Datuk Rubiah Wang

7. Puncak Borneo – Datuk Willie Mongin

8. Serian – Datuk Seri Richard Riot Jaem

9. Batang Sadong – Rodiyah Sapiee

10. Batang Lupar – Mohamad Shafizan Kepli

11. Sri Aman – Datuk Seri Doris Sophia Brodie

12. Lubok Antu – Roy Angau Gingkoi

13. Betong – Richard Rapu @ Aman Begri

14. Saratok – Giendam Jonathan Tait

15. Tanjung Manis – Yusuf Abdul Wahab

16. Igan – Ahmad Johnie Zawawi

17. Sarikei – Datuk Seri Huang Tiong Sii

18. Julau – Datuk Joseph Salang Gandum

19. Kanowit – Datuk Ago Dagang

20. Lanang – Wong Ching Yong

21. Sibu – Clarence Ting Ing Horh @ Ting Ing Ho

22. Mukah – Datuk Hanifah Hajar Taib

23. Selangau – Edwin Banta

24. Kapit – Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi

25. Hulu Rajang – Datuk Ugak Kumbong

26. Bintulu – Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing

27. Sibuti – Lukanisman Awang Sauni

28. Miri – Jeffery Phang Siaw Foong

29. Baram – Datuk Anyi Ngau

30. Limbang – Datuk Hasbi Habibollah

31. Lawas – Datuk Henry Sum Agong